Press "Enter" to skip to content

Basketball Freshman of the Year finalists announced

Wayman-Lawrence-Tisdale, photo from the web

by Patrick B. McGuigan
Executive Editor

This morning (Wednesday, February 15), the five finalists for the 2012 Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year award were announced. (Some fans got the word early, form a twitter release at halftime of the Ohio State vs. Minnesota basketball game on ESPN.

The finalists for the honor, recognizing the best first-year player in NCAA men’s basketball, are as follows:
Anthony Davis, Kentucky’ Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Kentucky; Cody Zeller, Indiana; Austin Rivers, Duke; and Tony Wroten, Washington.

The Tisdale Award is named in honor of Wayman Tisdale, the OU superstar who went onto a brilliant career in the NCAA and in jazz music before dying after a long illness.

The Tisdale Award is now presented annually in Oklahoma City. The winner is first announced during the Final Four in NCAA men’s basketball. The Award is a project of Access Sports, Inc., an Oklahoma City organization that works to assure athletic opportunities for underprivileged youth.

Lead sponsor of the presentation event in Oklahoma City will be Devon Energy. At that same event, the Tisdale Humanitarian of the Year Award will also be presented.

The basketball freshman of the year award is a joint effort with the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. Co-sponsors of the event in Oklahoma City last year included the Santa Fe Family Life Center, official home of the awards, Chesapeake Energy, the Osage Nation, the Knights of Columbus Building Corporation of Oklahoma City, Walters Power Company, and other generous local benefactors.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.